Finding Beauty in the Dissonance

My "mini-blog" for quickly tossing up things of interest.

 


 

cjohnson.info
Sun Jan 26
Wed Nov 27
The ideal situation occurs when the things that we regard as beautiful are also regarded by other people as useful. Donald Knuth
Mon Sep 9
Sun Sep 8

Enlightening the man on the street with a beautifully simple experiment.

Wed Jul 10
Before functoriality, people lived in caves. Brian Conrad
Thu Jun 13
Nothing is more fatal to the progress of the human mind than to presume that our view of science is ultimate, that our triumphs are complete, that there are no mysteries in nature, and that there are no new worlds to conquer. Humphry Davy
Thu May 2
Only the mediocre are supremely confident of their ability. Michael Atiyah in the Advice to a Young Mathematician section of the Princeton Companion to Mathematics.
Wed Aug 8
Sun Mar 25

I can’t make embed this and have it start where I want, so I’ll just say: Check out Matt Cutts’ talk, starting right at 30 minutes into the video, about challenging yourself thirty days at a time.

Sat Mar 17